Frantic.

Frantic

With todays choice of word I will not be the only person to start their blog with something along the lines of being frantic with worry as to whether I could think of anything to write on the subject.

I’m not sure this is a subject I can really get my teeth into as the older I get the less frantic I try to become, this I am hoping will prevent me from keeling over with a massive and terminal heart attack. There may of course be some people who get so frantic about the possibility of becoming frantic that they are endangering their health by worrying frantically.

It’s always best to check for the meaning of the word before starting as one wouldn’t want to be frantically writing and have the wrong definition. It was during the process of which I came across the word corybantic which has much the same meaning as frantic but is used generally to describe music or dancing.

It put me in mind of my youth, back to the days when as a young man sporting shoulder length hair and turquoise velvet bellbottom trousers, both quite the style at the time, I ventured forth on two or three evenings a week to watch the latest popular beat combos or rock bands as they are more popularly known. The music causing those present to gyrate in a wild and uncontrolled fashion almost corybantic, one might say.

Time has got the better of me tonight and I have to leave as my wife is frantically getting ready for us to go out for an evenings entertainment which as far as I know will not include any rock bands or corybantic movement, unless our local Indian restaurant has changed out of all recognition.

About The Diary of a Country Bumpkin

I am a retired actor, although to be honest I only retired because I wasn't getting any work due to losing my agent when I became a full time carer to my mother who had dementia. and the option of becoming an unemployed actor/waiter at my age was ludicrous, especially as my waiting skills are non-existent. Having said I’m retired, I don’t think there really is such a thing as a retired actor for I am still available for work, I just don’t have an agent or any connections with regards to obtaining any worthwhile work. I have over the years done student films when there is nothing else available, always low paid (if at all) the only incentive was always the promised copy of the finished film for your show reel which nine times out of ten always failed to materialise. I spent many years looking after my aged mother and shortly after her death I was lucky enough to run into an ex-girlfriend of many years ago and our romance blossomed once again, resulting in us getting married in 2013. My move to the countryside inspired me to write The Diary of a Country Bumpkin which tells of my continuing dilemmas in dealing with the rigors of the countryside from the unexpectedly large number of pollens, fungal moulds and hay products waiting to attack the unsuspecting townie. I enjoy writing, see my play Dulce Et Decorum Est Pro Patria Mori on The Wireless Theatre Company, The Plays Wot I Wrote and The Battle of Barking Creek both available on Amazon.co.uk and am very fond of classic cars so my ideal occupation would be acting in a film I had written set in the 1930s/40s, we live in hopes. I am delighted to say that since venturing to the countryside where space is not quite the premium it is in town, I have due to the availability of two double garages acquired more classic cars to form a small collection the pride of which are a 1947 Bentley Mk VI and a 2000 Bentley Arnage. My various blogs and websites are continually evolving and I’m sure that by following the appropriate links you will find something which will edify or amuse. I have written a number of different books all available on Amazon, so don't be shy should you feel the urge to purchase. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mr-Joe-Wells/e/B06XKWFQHT/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Frantic.

  1. I can relate to the frantic worrier you described…your dry humor makes for good writing!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.